Looking through a pinhole lens


At the beginning of this year I was to go out with a group of photographers and we would receive a surprise attachment for our cameras and we could go off and take images. The outing fell through, but I ended up with a Holga Pinhole lens that I really didn’t want, but thought I would give it a go sometime. As I have been stuck at home over the past few days suffering with a cold, I did a bit of research about using pinholes and was amazed how technical and involved some people get over the simplest of lenses. Finally, I found some good basic information and needing to get out of the house I went down to the wharf to try it out.

As it was a bright sunny day I set the camera to Manual, ISO 100, White Balance to Daylight and Exposure 1 sec. I didn’t use a tripod as I had plenty of hand rails and posts to place my camera on, but a tripod would be essential otherwise. All of the images had levels adjustment in Photoshop and a hint of structure in Topaz Details.

pinhole11Canon 600D, Holga Pinhole Lens, Manual, ISO 100, 1 sec

pinhole24Canon 600D, Holga Pinhole Lens, Manual, ISO 100, 1 sec

pinhole34Canon 600D, Holga Pinhole Lens, Manual, ISO 100, 2 sec

pinhole31Canon 600D, Holga Pinhole Lens, Manual, ISO 100, 3 sec

Will I be using the pinhole lens again? Maybe.

Categories: Around Town, Bridges, Murray Bridge, River MurrayTags: , ,
