Lillimur Post Office


On a recent trip to Victoria I stopped in the tiny town of Lillimur, population 373 by the 2006 census. What caught my eye was a an old weatherboard building, inside twisted and buckled. I think the reason it is still standing is the solid chimney. All the doors were wide open so I could not resist going inside to have a look around.

After searching the web trying to find out what the building was used for, I came across a photo taken in 2007 see link below, showing it in slightly better condition and labelled the Lillimur Post Office. Unfortunately, there was no other information, but it had survived time, but that was running out.

Fujifilm XE-I, 18-55 mm

http://au.geoview.info/lillimur_post_office,6404895p

Lillimur Post Office 2014

Lillimur Post Office 2014

Lillimur Post Office, right hand side 2014

Lillimur Post Office, right hand side 2014

 

Lillimur Post Office, serving window and letter box 2014

Lillimur Post Office, serving window and letter box 2014

Lillimur Post Office, inside the side door 2014

Lillimur Post Office, inside the side door 2014

Hand prints in concrete outside the Lilliur Post Office 2014

Hand prints in concrete outside the Lillimur Post Office 2014

Categories: Abandoned, Black & White, Decay, Decline, VictoriaTags: , ,

3 comments

  1. Barbara, I enjoyed browsing through your images and commentary of Lillimur and elsewhere on your blog site. An extra interest in the B&W images was that you used the Fuji XE-1 with the 18-55 mm lens that I also carry when not using larger Nikons. Thanks for sharing.

    Brian Cartwright (AHPC)

    • Thanks Brian, good to hear from you. I use the Fuji on a number of occasions, like you its smaller and lighter to carry around and in poor light within buildings I can set the ISO high without losing image quality, and it captures so much detail.

  2. I want to go to Lillimur what a brilliant old building great images

