Multiple Exposures


I was reading a photographic magazine this morning which had an article about multiple exposures by Jackie Ranken. I have seen this done by other photographers in different styles but it was Jackie’s well composed images that inspired me to have a try. Shooting with my Fuji X-E1 that has multiple exposure capability, I took a short trip down to the wharf where I do all my experimenting.

Leaf and old wooden railway van door

Leaf and old wooden railway van door

The first image of a leaf and an old railway van wooden door I thought came out reasonably well.

Engine number and train wheels

Engine number and train wheels

I then experimented with different exposure compensation in this image of the train engine number and the wheels as the wheels were in full sun and the number in full shade.

Riverbank reeds and a Corella feather

Riverbank reeds and a Corella feather

The third image was of reeds growing on the riverbank with a white corella feather placed on a dark background.

Categories: Around Town, Black & White, Murray Bridge, Railway, River MurrayTags:

3 comments

  1. I like the results you have achieved here, Barbara. Composing an overlay on-site with two good exposures would take some skill. I have managed overlays in PS-Elements using layers, as in the following from Port Arthur, Tasmania (there’s no preview option here, so hope the link works):

  2. Wii have to read up on Jackie Ranken looks good

